Ahahaha, I just discovered the 801 Media YouTube channel! Here are the books I worked on: The Devil’s Secret (kinda odd, melancholy music – the book’s a comedy) and The Prime Minister’s Secret Diplomacy (ah, so pretty). Man, I can’t watch those all the way through…all I can think about is: “Why did I break the lines there? And that isn’t centered at all! What was I thinking??” *shudder*

Wow, I have to start following the 801 Media blog again – they had a guest post by Ruri Fujikawa!

5 Comments

  cavechan wrote @

Hi Shelby! My name’s Heather and I just started reading your blog and twitter. My goal in life is to do manga lettering or layout work. It’s very hard finding information about these types of jobs out there, so finding and reading your blog has been great!

What I’ve been doing to try and get this job is firstly working with scanlations as an “editor” (retouch/lettering), learning Japanese (getting there), and sending out my resume and website to every job listing I can find (I did get one, unpaid job! yay).

Is there any advice you could give me, and other readers, about more I could do to get my dream job? Such as, what are the manga companies looking for on a resume and in a portfolio? Is working with scanlations helpful at all?

Sorry this ended up being kind of long. Thank you very much for your time!

  Shelby wrote @

Hi Heather! Hmm, since I just work on manga as a freelancer, I’m not exactly sure what it is that publishers are looking for in a resume when they want to hire new letterers. That said, here’s what I think was helpful in landing me my first job. 🙂 It’s likely a requirement to know the basic graphics and layout programs really well: Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and Quark (okay, I’ve never had to use Quark for manga, but I’ve had to use all of the other three). I also had some regular book production experience before I got a lettering job (managing, though, not design). That may have looked good, since I already knew the typesetting lingo and all about the physical requirements of bookmaking/printing (leading, margins, dpi, etc.). So if you aren’t familiar with book design and typesetting, that would be good to look into.

I’ve found that publishers do seem to be willing to train people, but unfortunately this is a really tough time at the moment. 😦 However, if you can go to conventions and talk to publishers in person, it may be useful just to get on their radar for when they’re looking for new people. I got my first lettering job through a friend who had gotten to know some publishers at SDCC and other comic conventions.

Anyway, hope that helps a bit. Let me know if you have more questions, and good luck!!

  cavechan wrote @

Thank you for your reply!

I actually have a degree in graphic design so I did learn pretty much everything you mentioned. 🙂 I think I’ll have to find more smaller jobs to build up my portfolio and experience more. And go to more cons~.

Thanks for adding me on Twitter too! I will definitely continue following your blog and comment again if I have any more questions.

  Shelby wrote @

Ah, you’re in good shape, then! It’s just a tough market right now; as far as I can tell, you’re doing everything right. 🙂

  cavechan wrote @

Aw, thanks. That makes me feel really good. 😀


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

