Falling Into Love at Akadot Retail

Hm, looks like you can get your hands on the advance copies of Falling Into Love at Akadot Retail. They did indeed have advances at Yaoi-Con last weekend and I picked up a copy myself. Glad to see their choice of title font and mine echo each other – guess I shouldn’t have worried about going a bit script-y. 🙂 Honestly, the main story in this one is cute, but the companion volume – His Arrogance, which is about Tomohito’s younger brother (it’s set a few years after Falling Into Love) – is even cuter. I personally liked His Arrogance better overall. 🙂 It’s slated to be out in December, but DMP did say some things are running behind (and like many companies they’re having to cut back a bit in the current economic climate) so I’m not sure if it will be out on time. I just turned in corrections, so hopefully it won’t be too long!

Speaking of cute books, picked up a bunch at Yaoi-Con. Just finished Mister Mistress by Rize Shinba (hilarious!) and I finally read Moon and Sandals by Fumi Yoshinaga (masterful, as usual!). But what I’m most looking forward to is Saika Kunieda’s Future Lovers (and of course I can’t wait for the sequel coming out in 2009!).

Speaking of Deux Press titles (Mister Mistress and Future Lovers), as far as I know they’re the only publisher that subtitles asides rather than replacing them. Someone in their panel asked them why they’d made the decision to handle them that way and the response was that they didn’t want to alter the art (asides are hand-written), and also that people who can read a bit of Japanese like to see the original text right there. The person asking the question clearly wished they would just replace it (I think she thought it was too messy). I can see her point (it does look a bit crowded sometimes), but I respect Deux for wanting to preserve the original art as much as possible. Something to think about….

